Jorginho and Putellas take Player of the Year honors

August 27, 2021 1 By Oha

Although the UEFA Champions League group stage draw has immediately set tongues wagging about the numerous heavyweight matchups to come, Chelsea’s Jorginho and Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas are celebrating their player of the year awards.

The Chelsea man beat off teammate N’Golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne to win the award after his UCL and UEFA Euro 2020 success with Italy while Putellas was key in Barca becoming European soccer’s strongest female force right now.

President Aleksander Ceferin’s award to Simon Kjaer and the medical staff who helped to save Christian Eriksen’s life this summer started the ceremony in emotional style before the individual positional winners were named.

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy and Kante took goalkeeper and midfielder respectively while City’s Ruben Dias and Borussia Dortmund’s Erling Haaland took home the defensive and offensive titles.

Craving even more coverage of the Champions League group-stage draw? Listen below and follow ¡Qué Golazo! A Daily CBS Soccer Podcast where we take you beyond the pitch and around the globe for commentary, previews, recaps and more. 

Sandra Panos, Irene Paredes, Putellas and Jennifer Hermoso completed a Barca clean sweep on the women’s side, but it should be noted that Paredes has only just returned from Paris Saint-Germain and was not part of last season’s success.Men’s Player of the Year: JorginhoWomen’s Player of the Year: Alexia PutellasMen’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Edouard MendyWomen’s Goalkeeper of the Year: Sandra PanosMen’s Defender of the Year: Ruben DiasWomen’s Defender of the Year: Irene ParedesMen’s Midfielder of the Year: N’Golo KanteWomen’s Midfielder of the Year: Alexia PutellasMen’s Striker of the Year: Erling HaalandWomen’s Striker of the Year: Jennifer Hermoso