EPL list of best goalkeeper to worst goalkeeper

October 16, 2018 Off By Oha

You could argue that Alisson and Ederson are the Premier League’s two best goalkeepers because they’ve conceded the fewest number of goals.
The two Brazilian goalkeepers have played the maximum 720 minutes for their respective clubs, conceding just three goals each.
It equates to one every 240 minutes that they’ve been on the pitch – or one every 2.7 games.
By the same reckoning, you’d have to say Huddersfield’s Ben Hamer is the worst.

Liverpool’s Alisson and Manchester City’s Ederson (Image: X01988)
The Terriers shot-stopper played in the club’s first two games of the season before getting injured in the third.
He conceded nine goals in that time at the rate of one every 21 minutes.
But football is a team game, though, so perhaps ranking keepers solely on goals conceded is a little unfair.

Ben Hamer let in six against Manchester City alone (Image: Michael Regan)
After all, Ederson has only faced 16 shots in eight appearances – only one more than Tottenham’s Hugo Lloris faced in four games.
Here’s how the league’s goalkeepers rank in terms of minutes per goal and shot-stopping ratio.
Minutes per goal conceded
Ben Hamer (Huddersfield) – 21Marcus Bettinelli (Fulham) – 34Fabri (Fulham) – 36Neil Etheridge (Cardiff) – 42Michel Vorm (Tottenham) – 45David De Gea (Manchester United) – 51Alex McCarthy (Southampton) – 51Martin Dubravka (Newcastle) – 55Mat Ryan (Brighton) – 55Lukasz Fabianski (West Ham) – 55Ben Foster (Watford) – 60Jordan Pickford (Everton) – 60Asmir Begovic (Bournemouth) – 60Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester) – 60Joe Hart (Burnley) – 60Petr Cech (Arsenal) – 65Jonas Lössl (Huddersfield) – 66Wayne Hennessey (Crystal Palace) – 80Rui Patrício (Wolves) – 120Bernd Leno (Arsenal) – 135Kepa Arrizabalaga (Chelsea) – 144Hugo Lloris (Tottenham) – 180Paulo Gazzaniga (Tottenham) – 180Ederson (Manchester City) – 240Alisson (Liverpool) – 240
Shots saved (%)
Marcus Bettinelli – 54Ben Hamer – 55Ben Foster – 57Jordan Pickford – 60Asmir Begovic – 61Kasper Schmeichel- 64Neil Etheridge – 64David De Gea – 64Jonas Lössl – 65Martin Dubravka – 66Alex McCarthy – 68Michel Vorm – 69Mat Ryan – 70Lukasz Fabianski – 74Joe Hart – 75Wayne Hennessey – 75Petr Cech – 76Fabri – 76Kepa Arrizabalaga – 78Ederson – 81Rui Patrício – 83Bernd Leno – 86Alisson – 86Hugo Lloris – 87Paulo Gazzaniga – 89