Thomas Tuchel reacts to handball claims in lead up to Youri Tielemans winner in FA Cup final

May 15, 2021 Off By Oha

Tuchel said his staff were convinced it should have been handball

Thomas Tuchel says his Chelsea bench was convinced there was a handball in the build-up to the goal that saw Leicester City beat them in the FA Cup final.

Tuchel

Youri Tielemans scored the winner with a stunning effort from 30 yards out at Wembley as the Foxes won the competition for the first time in their history.

Chelsea players immediately confronted referee Michael Oliver however, believing the ball had struck Ayoze Perez’s arm in the build-up.

Reece James’ pass appeared to bounce off the Spaniard’s knee and onto his arm with the ball breaking to Tielemans, who carried it forward before beating Kepa from range.

Speaking post-match, Tuchel insisted he was ‘no expert’ on new handball rules but suggested his side were hard done by – also still aggrieved with a decision during the midweek defeat to Arsenal involving Rob Holding.Tielemans’ wonderful strike on the FA Cup for the Foxes (Picture: Getty)

‘I didn’t see it,’ Tuchel said.

‘My assistant saw it on the screen on the bench and the players said it straight away that is was a handball. For the second time, there was a handball against Arsenal and VAR didn’t intervene.

‘Today Leicester score a goal but I’m not an expert in handball. I don’t know what it’s handball now or not. So I can’t comment and give my opinion and I don’t know why it’s ok.’

Former Premier League referee Peter Walton agreed with the decision that there was no handball and later explained why VAR did not get involved in the incident.More: Chelsea FC

‘It’s a subjective viewpoint whether or not it was handball,’ Walton told BT Sport.

‘Personally, I don’t think it was a handball, the ball has deflected off Perez’s knee and just caught his arm. That in itself people may argue is handball, I don’t think it was.

‘However, VAR would not have not got involved in that incident because the actual goalscoring opportunity didn’t occur immediately when there was a potential handball. There was seven seconds or so between that potential handball and the ball hitting the back of the net.

‘That’s not immediately and the law states it’s only an offence if the goalscoring offence happens immediately, so good use of VAR